New Music Friday 05/03/2024

Crazy Without You by Axel Boy

Borderline atonal Drum n Bass with a truly awful hook. Whatever spark of brilliance Axel Boy had at the end of last year appears to be gone.

Buried Alive by Chance the Rapper

An extended verse over some crisp Neo-soul instrumentation. It’s not amazing but it does get my attention. We’ll see what he does next.

Mockingbird by Tiesto, Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike, & Gabry Ponte

HAHAHAHAHAHA. I’m not even mad about this one.

Euphoria by Kendrick Lamar

Those who know me; my family, my friends, my coworkers, KJ-52, Poetics, Mogli the Iceberg, Christon Gray, a certain habitual sex pest in Birmingham, the babysitter of the girl who played Tony Stark’s daughter in Endgame, Moms for Liberty; they know I’m a licensed, card carrying hater. I was born hating and by God I will die hating. This right here is some premium hating. A couple years ago I likened Family Ties to when they test-fired the Death Star in Rogue One and it liquified a continent. This? This is Starkiller Base eating a sun and spitting out pure red unvarnished evil, wiping out a solar system. This is a carpet bombing so thorough it’d make Archibald Sinclair orgasm. Three hundred & eighty-three seconds of hatred. Beautiful.

SEND THAT by Wande & Lecrae

Production slaps & Lecrae turns in a strong verse. Wande, while not terribly familiar to me, is real good here as well. Juberlee continues to nigh-single-handedly keep Reach’s production above par.

Tennessee by Kevin Abstract & Lil Nas X

This is phenomenal! Same vibes as Agora Hills but gay as hell. Quadeca’s production suits both vocalists perfectly.

Jungle Terror Volume 5 by Wiwek

Crash The Party

He’s back. Skrillex’s favored son. The last DJ to invent a genre ex nihilo. The Maharaja of moshpits. The Basileus of Bass. The opening track is a four-on-the-floor stomper with a lead synth straight out of 2015 Barong Family, and I suspect it was made in the same session as that forthcoming Skrillex collab.

Sirens

This is still bad, but it is the kind of bad I prefer to hear from Wiwek, rather than the Progressive House/Big Room experiments he was putting out for a couple years. It feels good to have one of the GOATs back.

Cola feat. Emy Perez

Worst song he’s made with a rapper, and he’s got like three Lil Debbie features to his name. The drop’s pretty alright, though. I fully do not understand Barong Family’s need to work with emcees this unremarkable, but at least this one isn’t a white girl that uses the n word. Wiwek, if you read this, I’d love another Big Freedia feature!

Scream feat. Holly

This is like if the old NBA theme played during RRR. Holly is the perfect match for Wiwek and I hope they make plenty more tracks together. The breakdown, likely mostly Holly’s work, is unreal.

Leave a comment