New Music Friday 01/04/24

Silver Thread Golden Needle by A. G. Cook

A beautiful (ten minute!) stretch of progressive minimalist dance music. When the drums come back in at the 8:30 mark? Cinema.

glow-zone by Gupi

try again (be someone)

This is some driving House music with a basic but propulsive central melodic motif. Their vocal processing continues to improve with each release as well.

hyperstop

Some you’re it-style double time. Really picks up in the second half too.

hibachi featuring Ruby Bell

They weren’t lying, this sounds like deep-fried Ke$ha.

DRC2

Not feeling this one. Sometimes Gupi’s infinite progression stuff works on me, sometimes it doesn’t. I do like the dueling melodies in the middle section, though.

if we were a movie

Pop perfection. Food House 2, when it comes, will surely be a masterpiece.

Oldskool Sound by Hardwell

DO MY EARS DECEIVE ME?! A Hardwell release tha-oh you bastard. My ears deceive me. The drop is exactly one note. All that buildup for that.

I Dont Wanna Worry by NEEDTOBREATHE

I haven’t liked anything they’ve put out in ages and I still can’t put my finger on it. Except for this song. This song is pop-washed crap that still has pretensions of being folksy and organic. Sorry guys, you can either do all this vocal manipulation or the simple piano + drums backing.

In Your Eyes by NGHTMRE, Jon Casey & Pauline Herr

Devastating, speaker-shredding Dubstep, probably the hardest thing NGHTMRE has put out in years.

Leave a comment